KPMG appoints three non-executives

KPMG EUROPE has appointed three independent non-executives who will form a newly created “public interest committee”.

The committee will enhance governance and transparency, and strengthen “confidence in audit quality”, KPMG said.

The non-executives are: Steve Robson – a non-executive director of Xstrata plc and the Financial Reporting Council; Tom de Swaan, a board member at Zurich Financial Services and a non-executive board member at GlaxoSmithKline; and Alfred Tacke, a member of the advisory committee of the Deutschland Fund in the Ministry of Economics in Berlin, Germany.

Rolf Nonnenmacher and John Griffith-Jones, joint chairmen of KPMG Europe, said: “We hope the investor community will respond positively as we seek to support the professional and ethical way in which we manage our businesses. We believe that building even stronger two-way relationships with the major investor groups is important to support additional public confidence in financial reporting and governance.”

Related reading