The Top 50 financial power list 2007

top 50 financial power list

There are challenging times ahead for the accountancy industry’s most
influential figures and organisations. The rush to regulation may have subsided
but new more pressing issues have arisen in their place.

Here, we highlight the leaders and organisations that will most influence the
industry and business in 2007.

Click here to download the list as a

Or to read the full list as text,
click here.


1: Ed Balls
Economic secretary to the Treasury

2: Sir Christopher Hogg
Chairman, Financial Reporting Council

3: John Griffith-Jones
Senior partner, KPMG

4: Baroness Noakes
Shadow treasury minister

5: Peter Wyman
Head of professional affairs, PwC

6: Simon Whitehead
Tax lawyer, Dorsey & Whitney

7: Dave Hartnett
Director general, HMRC

8: Jon Symonds
CFO, AstraZeneca

9: Philip Broadley
Group FD, Prudential

10: Helen Weir
FD, Lloyds TSB

11: Suzzane Wood
Head of CFO practice, Heidrick & Struggles

12: Chris Lucas
FD elect, Barclays

13: Gordon Brown
Chancellor, Treasury

14: Paul Gray
Acting chairman, HMRC

15: Michael Izza
Chief executive, ICAEW

16: European Court of Justice
Tax judgments

17: Mark Freebairn
Head of the CFO practice, Odgers Ray & Berndtson

18: Chris Dickson
Executive counsel, Joint Disciplinary Scheme

19: Andrew Higginson
Group finance director, Tesco

20: Jeremy Newman
Managing partner, BDO Stoy Hayward

21: John Connolly
Chief executive, Deloitte

22: Alan Blewitt
Chief executive, ACCA

23: Douglas Flint
Group finance director, HSBC

24: Paul Boyle
Chief executive, Financial Reporting Council

25: Nick Land
Non-executive director, Royal Dutch Shell

26: Christopher Cox
Chairman, Securities and Exchange Commission 

27: Kieran Poynter
Chairman, PwC

28: Mary Keegan
MD of government accountancy, Treasury

29: Katherine Lee
Chief financial officer, YouGov

30: Sir David Varney
Former chairman, HMRC

31: Markets Participants
Group investors

32: McCreevy, Kallas, László Kovács
European Commission

33: Ken Lever
FD, Tomkins

34: Rolf Nonnenmacher
Head of KPMG, Deutschland

35: Ian Dyson
FD, Marks & Spencer

36: Gunnar Niels
Author, Oxera

37: Mike Rake
Global chairman, KPMG

38: Anton Colella
Chief executive, ICAS

39: Richard Douglas
Finance director, NHS

40: Mark Otty
Chairman, Ernst & Young

41: Richard Murphy
Tax Justice Network

42: Margaret Ewing & Alison Reed
Top female FDs

43: Andy Halford
FD, Vodafone

44: Patrick Way
Tax Barrister

45: George Osborne
Shadow chancellor, Tory party

46: John Cullinane
President, CIoT 

47: Nick Sabin
Chief executive, IPA

48: David Herbinet
Head of public interest markets, Mazars

49: Peter Montagnon
Head of investment affairs, Association of British Insurers

50: Cameron Scott
Executive counsel, Accountancy Investigation & Discipline Board

Related reading