Second tranche of British Accountancy Awards judges revealed

ANOTHER TRANCHE of the UK’s most senior accounting and finance experts have been confirmed as judges for the British Accountancy Awards.

A further 14 judges can be revealed today for the British Accountancy Awards. The judges will join our other seven confirmed participants, who include PAC chairwoman Margaret Hodge and Office for Tax Simplification tax director John Whiting.

Among the latest judges confirmed are Sarah Hathaway, head of ACCA UK, Mark Lumsdon-Taylor, FD of Hadlow College – and winner of public sector & voluntary FD of the year at the 2014 Business Finance Awards.

Also on board is Nick Willis, chairman of practice representative body UK200 Group, and EY global managing partner of talent Mike Cullen. Stefan Stern, Financial Times columnist and visiting professor, Cass Business School, has also agreed to take part in the judging.

The first tranche of judges can be found by clicking here.

Latest confirmed:

  • Richard Anning, chairman, ICAEW IT Faculty
  • Paul Aplin, tax partner, AC Mole & Sons, and winner Outstanding Industry Contribution Award, 2013 British Accountancy Awards
  • Jane Fuller, co-director of the Centre for the Study of Financial Innovation, and founder of Fuller Analysis; former financial editor, Financial Times
  • Mark Holland, partner and managing director, Baker Tilly Revas
  • Andrew Jenner, co-founder, KATO Consultancy
  • Sarah Kierstan, programme director, Pioneer – Transforming Audit, Grant Thornton
  • Philip King, chief executive, Institute of Credit Management
  • Richard Reid, KPMG vice chairman and also London chairman
  • Spencer Wright, managing partner of British Accountancy Award-winning firm Dains

More than 20 judges will be picked to go through the entries. New categories include Top 50 Team Awards, which recognise excellence by service line, including corporate finance , tax, pensions, and wealth management, and are open to firms within the Accountancy Age Top 50 league table. Individual awards include both ‘Young Practitioner’ and ‘Practitioner of the Year’ categories.

Shortlists will be revealed in late summer/early autumn.

Related reading