Former ICAEW president awarded OBE

FORMER ICAEW PRESIDENT Mark Spofforth was among members of the accounting, tax and finance professions to be recognised in the 2014 New Year Honours list.

Spofforth, who served as president of the institute from 2012 to 2013, received an OBE for services to the accountancy profession.

Fellow ICAEW member and chief executive of Virgin Money, Jayne Anne Gadhia was awarded a CBE for services to banking. She trained as an accountant with EY in 1982, before moving to Norwich Union in 1987.

A number of HMRC staff also received honours with the majority going to women, including Susan McVeigh, Jayne Banner, Gillian Hammond, Lynette Hirst and Yasmin Khan, while Jane Hunt, who worked on HMRC’s disabled customer consultation group also received an award.

Another prominent woman to be honoured was Alison Carnwath, the only female chair in the FTSE 100, who becomes a dame for services to business. She began her career with Peat Marwick Mitchell (KPMG), where she trained, qualified and practiced as a chartered accountant from 1975 to 1980.

Related reading