HMRC appoints interim GAAR panel

THE COMPOSITION of the General Anti-Abuse Rule (GAAR) interim panel has been released by HM Revenue & Customs.

The rule, designed to prevent contrived tax avoidance schemes, will be included in the 2013 Finance Bill and will take effect once it has received royal assent in the summer.

The 11-strong interim panel members are drawn from various corners of the tax profession, including heads of tax at major accountancy firms, heads of tax at multinationals, lawyers and the voluntary and not-for-profit sector.

They will assume their roles on 31 March, while the process to appoint a permanent chairman is underway. In the meantime, author of the original GAAR recommendations Graham Aaronson QC will oversee the panel.

On Aaronson’s recommendation, HMRC have appointed the following:

• Graham Aaronson QC (chairman)
• John Barnett, partner and joint-head of corporate tax, Burges Salmon
• John Bartlett, group head of tax, BP
• Emma Chamberlain, barrister, Pump Court Tax Chambers
• Rob Clayton, group tax director, RSA Insurance Group
• Bill Dodwell, head of tax policy, Deloitte
• Steve Edge, corporate tax partner, Slaughter & May
• Francesca Lagerberg, global head of tax, Grant Thornton International
• Dr David McNair, principal economic justice adviser, Christian Aid
• Richard Murphy, founder, Tax Research UK
• Gary Richards, corporate tax partner, Berwin Leighton Paisner
• Tim Voak, group tax director, Tesco

Related reading