ICAEW vice president elected

ARTHUR Bailey has been elected as ICAEW’s next vice president and will formally take office on 13 June 2012.

A consultant with Begbies Traynor, Kingston Smith and a non-executive director, Bailey (pictured) has served on ICAEW‘s council for 14 years, including three years as chairman, and is currently a member of its board.

He beat competition from fellow council members Ian Davies, Nick Parker and Nathan Steinberg.

“We must never lose sight of the fact that our primary function is to support out members, whatever their diverse needs and geographic location. In times of economic turbulence and increasing legislation, we need, more than ever, to provide that support so that they remain trusted financial and business advisers,” Bailey said.

Bailey will act as vice president in support of Mark Spofforth who will be president for 2012/2013. The deputy president will be Martyn Jones.

Related reading