Avery Jones wins CIoT Council Award

FORMER TAX TRIBUNAL commissioner John Avery Jones has become only the second person to receive the CIoT’s Council Award.

Avery Jones, has had a distinguished career in tax. A solicitor and CIoT member, he served on the Keith committee on the powers of revenues departments, between 1980 and 1984, and spent 20 years as special commissioner and VAT and duties tribunal chairman until retiring in 2011. He is also a former CIoT president.

CIoT president Anthony Thomas presented Avery Jones with his award yesterday at the CIoT President’s Lunch.

The only other recipient of the award is former Lord Mayor of London Ian Luder.

Related reading