Election 2010: Accountants fight for seats

There will be at least twenty accountants paying a very close eye on
tonight’s election results, as they will find out whether they have won a seat
in the parliament – or not.

Some 13 ICAEW members are attempting to win seats, of whom seven are standing
for re-election.

High-flyers include Justine Greening, who is the Tory MP for Putney in what
is classed as a marginal with Labour.

Tory MP David Heathcoat-Amory, who held several senior government roles
during the 1980s and 1990s, stands in Wells.

Iain Wright is the only ICAEW member standing for Labour, aiming for
re-election in Hartlepool.

CIMA’s Michael Foster fights for Labour in Worcester, Sarah McCarthy-Fry aims
for a seat Portsmouth North for Labour and Co-Operative. McCarthy-Fry has served
as exchequer secretary to the Treasury.

CIoT’s Stephen Williams fights for the Lib Dems in Bristol West, having
served as its MP since 2005.

Karen Bradley, both ICAEW and CIOT-qualified, fights for the Tories in
Staffordshire Moorlands.

ICAEW’s Deborah Thomas, representing the Tories, faces an unenviable task
against Vince Cable in Twickenham.

Peter Bone Con Wellingborough
Nick Gibb Con Bognor Regis and Littlehampton
Justine Greening Con Putney
Mark Harper Con Forest of Dean
David Heathcoat-Amory Con Wells
Mark Hoban Con Fareham
Iain Wright Lab Hartlepool

Karen Bradley Con Staffordshire Moorlands
Jeremy Lefroy Con Stafford
Alok Sharma Con Reading West
David Mowat Con Warrington South
Nigel Mills Con Amber Valley
Deborah Thomas Con Twickenham

Michael Foster Lab Worcester
Sarah McCarthy-Fry Lab/Co-Op Portsmouth North

Stephen Williams Lib Bristol West
Karen Bradley (see ICAEW)

Teresa Pearce (tax accountant) Lab Erith

Related reading