Labour accountant seeks to head Commons committee

A Labour accountant MP has joined the contest to become the next chairman of
the powerful Commons Public Accounts Committee.

Iain Wright, MP for Hartlepool, faces former PAC member Austin Mitchell,
former Labour culture minister Margaret Hodge, a former consultant with
PriceWaterhouse, Labour backbencher Brian Donohoe, left-wing MP Michael Meacher,
a former Environment Minister, and backbencher Hugh Bayley, a former member of
the International Development Committee.

Mitchell has well-known views about separating accountancy consultancy and
audit work,

Wright was a chartered accountant with Deloitte and Touche from 1996-2003 and
with the regional development body One North East from 2003-2004.

Voting is taking place today (Wednesday) and the results are due to be
announced on tomorrow.

Tory MPs Michael Fallon and Andrew Tyrie are contesting the chairmanship of
the Treasury Committee.

Read more:

line up for PAC

Leigh to you

Related reading