SBC meets after delay.

Small Business and e-commerce minister Patricia Hewitt has announced the 19 members of the council to support chairman, William Sargent. It is understood the first meeting will include SBC chief executive David Irwin Hewitt and secretary of state for trade and industry, Stephen Byers. Hewitt, said: ‘I am pleased this is a council of active entrepreneurs making commercial decisions, and who understand from daily experience, issues facing small businesses.’ The government has set up the independent body to report back to them on the needs of small businesses. The SBC has 13 male and seven female members, from sectors including accountancy, manufacturing, retail, IT, TV and consultancy. Michael Snyder, senior partner for mid-tier firm Kingston Smith will take up a seat on the council. Former Coopers & Lybrand director Walter Herriot, who left to join St John’s Innovation Centre as MD, will represent the accountancy profession. Other members include chief executive of HR consultancy Mayday Group, Sarah Anderson, XL Entertainment CEO, James Braithwaite, Paul Morgan, MD of Roseberry Recycling and Reuben Singh, chairman of the RS Group of Companies.

Related reading