Howard lines up Hague for Brown showdown

Link: Profile: Michael Howard

Speculation over a role for former Conservative Party chancellor Ken Clarke has been noticeably absent. His name was not among the original MPs said to support the Howard ‘coronation’ when former leader Iain Duncan Smith lost his vote of confidence.

Now Hague’s name is believed to be on the list.

Howard supporters included accountant MPs David Heathcoat-Amory, a former shadow chief secretary, Mark Hoban, a shadow defence minister, former Public Accounts Committee chairman and current shadow deputy prime minister David Davis, shadow chief secretary Howard Flight, shadow Treasury Minister Stephen O’Brien, and, it is understood, Tory accountant MP Nick Gibb.

Related reading