Fisher steps into ABN AMRO chair

Mark Fisher, chief executive of the
Bank of Scotland
manufacturing division, has replaced Rijkman Groenink as
AMRO chairman
, following the takeover bid for the Dutch bank by a consortium
made up of Royal Bank of Scotland, Spain’s Santander; and Fortis, a
Belgian-Dutch group.

Groenink stepped down after nominating Fisher, who is also a member of the
RBS group board and group executive management committee.

ABN and the RBS-led consortium nominated a new structure and membership of
the ABN AMRO supervisory and managing boards and their proposed responsibilities
which are all subject to an approval process which will include an extraordinary
general meeting (EGM) of shareholders at the earliest practical date as well as
consultation with all relevant staff representative bodies.

Nominated to join the supervisory board are Sir Fred Goodwin, RBS chief
executive; Jean-Paul Votron, Fortis chief executive; and Juan Inciarte,
Santander general manager.

David Baron de Rothschild; Marcus Pratini de Moraes; Paulo Scaroni; Lord
Sharman of Redlynch; and Gerhard Randa will be stepping down at the forthcoming

Related reading