Accountancy Age Awards 2001 – Celebrating financial excellence.

This week marks the launch of the Accountancy Age Awards for Excellence 2001, the only awards that reflect financial excellence across the entire profession.

Once again the Accountancy Age Awards offers the chance for giants like last year’s Big Five winner Ernst & Young and Financial Director of the Year Craig Bennett of The Caudwell Group to celebrate alongside the highest achievers among the year’s newly-qualified accountants.

We are delighted to confirm that once again the ceremony will be held at the stunning Natural History Museum in London. In 2000 more than 600 senior figures gathered to celebrate the best of the profession. And 2001’s event promises to be better than ever.

Among this year’s other returning categories are Small and Medium Firms of the Year as well as Finance Team and Accountancy Age Personality of the Year, won last year by anti-IR35 campaigner – Anne Redston.

But this year the number of categories has also been revised to recognise achievements in two important new fields. Accountant of the Year is open to all qualified accountants whether in business or practice below the level of finance director and partner.

And our new E-business Innovation Award is open to all businesses and firms that have embraced technology to deliver goods and/or services in a new and exciting way.

So if you have made a valuable contribution to the accountancy profession in the past year – whatever your sector, discipline or seniority – Accountancy Age wants to hear about it.

If you would like to be part of this unique event, log on to the awards site at


The categories

Closing date: 27 July 2001

Ceremony: 7 November 2001

Venue: Natural History Museum, London

Big Five Firm

Sponsored in 2001 by Navision Won in 2000 by Ernst & Young Entry is restricted to the Big Five only. All are automatically entered.

Medium Firm

Won in 2000 by HLB Kidsons

Open to firms with 16+ partners (not Big Five)

Small Firm

Won in 2000 by Ford Campbell

Open to firms with 15 or fewer partners

Entrants will be asked to supply information on their UK activities for all three firm categories, including:

– How has the firm added significant value to its clients?

– How has the firm’s own structure developed in the past 12 months to improve client focus, effectiveness and innovation?

– How has the firm’s financial performance improved over the past year? Financial statements should be included.

– For the Small and Medium Firm categories judges will be looking for firms that provide unique services for their clients setting them apart from competitors.

Accounting Technician

Sponsored in 2001 by the Association of Accounting Technicians

Won in 2000 by Colin Stewart, Jackson Stewart & Co

Open to all fully-qualified accounting technicians whether employed or self-employed. The judges will look for entrants who have demonstrated professionalism, imagination and innovation that has led to organisational success.

Finance Team

Won in 2000 by Reed Business Information

This is a team award for professional excellence in financial management and is open to entrants from any field of industry, commerce or public services. The judges will be looking for evidence of substantial financial achievement and innovation that has generated clear business benefits.

Accountant of the Year

New category: Sponsored in 2001 by ACCA Open to all qualified accountants.

Entrants must be below the level of FD or partner. The winner will have to demonstrate sound judgement and technical skill along with innovation and leadership abilities.

Financial Director

Sponsored in 2001 by FSS Financial in association with Financial Director magazine

Won in 2000 by Craig Bennett, The Caudwell Group

This award is for professional excellence in financial management, and open to entrants from any field of industry, commerce or public services.

The judges will look for evidence of substantial financial achievement.

Accounting Software Package

Sponsored in 2001 by Softworld Accounting & Finance

Won in 2000 by TAS Software for NatWest Book-keeper (Off-the-Shelf); Exchequer for Exchequer Enterprise (Mid-Range)

OpenAccounts (Enterprise)

Three awards Off-the-Shelf, Mid-Range, Enterprise Systems.

Entries must show a balance of technical innovation with reliability and customer care; functionality; design quality; ease of use and value-for-money. Information should be provided on sales growth and new market development. The Off-the-Shelf category is also open to financial packages with a strong accounting element.

E-business Innovation

New category: Sponsored in 2001 by Sage in association with

This award is open to companies making a difference in the area of e-business, new technology, online initiatives in financial reporting and developments that are making web-based trading happen. The award is open to practices that are advising clients on e-business innovation and businesses that are delivering e-business solutions. The panel of judges will be looking for evidence of vision, strategy and tangible results.

Public Services Achievement

Won in 2000 by David Allcock, Birmingham Heartlands and Solihull NHS Trust. This award is open to individuals in public service accounting including government departments, local authorities, executive agencies, NHS trusts, housing associations etc. Entrants should demonstrate imagination and financial skill in achieving best value for service users.

Annual Report & Accounts

Won in 2000 by The British Land Company

Open to commercial and public sector organisations, the judges will look for the annual report and accounts that clearly communicates financial performance, key drivers of the organisation, the management strategy and understanding of corporate governance. Both paper-based and online report and accounts will be accepted.

Accountancy Age Personality

Sponsored in 2001 by ICAEW

Won in 2000 by Anne Redston, Ernst & Young

Goes to the personality who has contributed the most to the profession during the past year. The Accountancy Age editorial team will draw up a shortlist and readers will vote in September 2001, in conjunction with voting on

New Accountant of the Year

Sponsored in 2001 by CIMA, ACCA

The winners will be decided by the participating accountancy institutes from their newly qualified accountants. The reasons for their decisions can range from the top exam results to the best contribution to their company so far in their career. The institutes’ decisions are final and Accountancy Age will play no part.

Related reading