New Year’s Honours – Royal treatment for accountants

Financial advisers to the Royal Family and other public-sector accountants figured prominently in the Labour government’s first New Year’s honours.

The Queen’s treasurer, Sir Michael Peat, was made a Knight Commander of the Royal Victorian Order and Michael Gibbins, comptroller to the late Princess Diana, became a Lieutenant of the same order. Accountants in business honoured with CBEs included John Church, chairman of shoe manufacturer Church & Co, and London Transport board member Anthony John Sheppeck.

Baker Tilley partner and head of business services Teresa Graham received an OBE for her services to small business as deputy chairman of the Government’s Better Regulation Task Force.

CIPFA member Bernard Harty, chamberlain (finance director) and chief executive of the City of London, received a CBE for his services to the City and to local government finance in general.

Scots ICA members Angus MacDonald and Graeme Summers were recognised with CBEs for their services to music and sports. MacDonald is chairman of the Scottish Chamber Orchestra and Summers is chairman of the Scottish Sports Council.

Andersen Consulting partner Vincent Watts received an OBE for his contribution to the public sector, as did former Taunton borough treasurer Michael Thresher.

Related reading