Lloyds TSB finance chief awarded CBE

Lloyds TSB group FD Helen Weir and former CIMA president Claire Ighodaro
topped the awards for the finance profession in the New Year’s Honours List.

Weir, an Accountancy Age Awards 2007 judge, was awarded a CBE for services to
the finance industry.

Ighodaro was also awarded a CBE for services to business. She is currently
non-executive director of the Banking Code Standards Board, an independent board
member of the Department for Business, Enterprise and Regulatory Reform and has
roles at the National Learning and Skills Council and Open University.

And in other finance profession New Year’s Honours:

  • Former FSA chief executive John Tiner was awarded a CBE;
  • Peter Dunn, a former senior audit manager at KPMG, became a member of the
    Royal Victorian Order;
  • Jaguar Cars FD Alan Walker was awarded an OBE for services to the automotive
    industry and to disadvantaged people in Merseyside;
  • HMRC contact centre manager Kathleen Silvestro was awarded an OBE.
  • James Sassoon, who worked at then KPMG Thomson McLintock for eight years and
    was also managing director of finance, regulation and industry at the Treasury,
    is knighted.

Further reading:

Profile: Helen Weir, FD of Lloyds

Head of HMRC disc disaster section
gets gong

Related reading