ICAEW announces vice-president candidates

The ICAEW has named three candidates up for election as the institute’s
vice-president. David Furst, Dennis Cox and Hilary Lindsay have applied for the

The successful candidate serves in the position for a year, before serving as
deputy president for the same term, and then president the year after.

Cox, CEO of Risk Reward Limited, said that he believes listening to the
membership, presenting its views to business community and ‘working together’
were key for the role.

Furst, a partner and currently chairman of Horwath Clark Whitehill LLP, said
that many members were ‘disengaged’, and was an issue that needed to be
addressed. He added that the institute must raise its profile among the business
community, and ‘make peace’ with ICAS and the ICAI with a view to consolidation
in the medium term.

Lindsay, a business school lecturer and e-learning consultant, said it was
important for the institute to ‘balance’ the interests of all sectors of its
members, highlighting its international expansion with the priorities of UK
members; long-term strategic aims with short-term finances; and balancing its
‘reactive work’ with the need to lead thinking in key areas such as

The ICAEW Council has begun voting, with the ballot closing on 30 January.
The result will be announced on 1 February.

Related reading

BAA logo _360x270