Letwin confirmed as shadow chancellor

Link: Letwin tipped for shadow chancellor job

Shadow chief secretary Howard Flight has retained his post, with merchant banker Andrew Mitchell, industrial manager Laurence Robertson and economist Andrew Tyrie appointed as junior shadow ministers.

David Davis takes over the home affairs post, with Theresa May getting transport and environment. Dr Liam Fox and advertising guru Lord Saatchi have been appointed as co-chairmen of the party.

Tim Yeo gets the health and education post.

Accountant MPs David Heathcoat-Amory and Nick Gibb were not included in the initial list of members of the front bench team

The full shadow cabinet is:

  • Shadow chancellor – Oliver Letwin
  • Home affairs – David Davis
  • Health and education – Tim Yeo
  • Transport and environment – Theresa May
  • Local government secretary – David Curry
  • Joint chairmen – Liam Fox and Lord Saatchi
  • Chief whip – David Maclean
  • Shadow Lords leader – Lord Strathclyde
  • Shadow foreign secretary and deputy leader – Michael Ancram
  • Head of policy co-ordination – David Willetts

Related reading