CIPFA revamps disciplinary committees

The changes came about because of legislation in the Human Rights Act and have resulted in 20 new appointments to the investigations, disciplinary and appeal committees. CIPFA members not involved in other aspects of the institutes governance will also sit on the committees, which were previously comprised of mainly CIPFA council members.

Vernon Sore, CIPFA’s policy and technical director, said: ‘CIPFA’s professional disciplinary scheme was the subject of extensive revision last year.

‘This is a significant step for CIPFA and demonstrates our commitment to a rigorous and transparent way of working.’

Former chair of the Marchioness inquiry into river safety John Mayes will chair the appeals committee, president of the Mental Health review tribunal John Burrow will chair the disciplinary committee and Peter Jones, current deputy chairman of the Civil Service Appeals Board, will chair the investigations committee.


CIPFA website

Related reading