Mary Keegan appointed NAO non-exec

Former head of government accounting Dame Mary Keegan has been appointed a
non-executive member of the new National Audit Office board.

Dame Mary, who retired from the post in March will be accompanied by Richard
Fleck, a founder member of the former Auditing Practices Board and member of the
Financial Reporting Council – plus a partner in international law firm Herbert

Ruth Evans also joins the NAO. She is a former chairwoman of the Bar
Standards Board and a non-executive member of the Independent Police Complaints

Sir John Piling joins the board and is a former head of the Northern Ireland

Each will hold office for three years from 1 July, renewable for three years.

A spokesman said they were recommended by PAC chairman Sir Andrew Likierman
‘following an open competition’.

Likierman said he was ‘delighted at the quality of the candidates who put
themselves forward for these important new roles’.

Further reading:

Behind the numbers: life after

Thompson under fire over dual
government FD roles

Thompson replaces Keegan as
government finance chief

Related reading