Germany signs OECD tax evasion convention

Germany has joined 15 other countries to sign the
for Economic Cooperation and Development
-Council of Europe Convention on
Mutual Administrative Assistance in Tax Matters – to combat cross-border tax
evasion more effectively.

According to OEDC, the convention, covering both direct and indirect taxes,
enables tax administrations in participating countries to work together to
enforce national tax laws by exchanging information, conducting multilateral
simultaneous tax examinations and assisting each other in tax collection, reports.

Germany’s secretary of state in the federal ministry of finance, Dr Axel
Nawrath, said last week the convention enabled more effective prosecution of
international tax evasion and tax fraud.

Apart from the UK, other parties to the convention are Azerbaijan, Belgium,
Denmark, Finland, France, Iceland, Italy, the Netherlands, Norway, Poland,
Sweden and USA. Canada and Ukraine have signed but are still in the process of
Further reading:

story in

Related reading

Life Belt with Computer Folders