Mayo and e-envoy to judge Accountancy Age Awards

John Mayo, former finance director and deputy chief executive of Marconi, will be joined by the FDs of Easyjet and Channel 5 – Chris Walton and Grant Murray – in judging this year’s awards. Commonwealth Games FD David Leather and head of the Eden Project, Gaynor Coley, will also sit on the panel.

From the firms, Roger Davis and Zahir Fazal, senior partners of PricewaterhouseCoopers and Horwath Clark Whitehill respectivly, will join last year’s ICAEW president Michael Groom and Baker Tilly partner Louise Brittain.

Colin Reeves, head of the Foundation’s Review Board, and Desmond Flynn, inspector general of the Insolvency Service, will also be among the judges.

Neil Chisman, a member of the Financial Reporting Council and an Accountancy Age columnist, and Richard Harbord, former managing director of Hammersmith and Fulham council, complete the line-up.

Among the specialist judges for the software and ebusiness categories is the government’s e-envoy, Andrew Pinder.

He will be joined by Accountancy Age columnist, writer and consultant Dennis Howlett and BASDA’s Dennis Keeling. John Oates of Baker Tilly, John Court from the ICAEW’s IT Faculty and Lem Bingley, managing editor of Accountancy Age’s sister title IT Week, will also sit on the panel.

Entries for this year’s awards have been pouring in – but there are still a few days left until the deadline. Entrance closes on 16 August.

Judging day is September 4 and the winners will be announced at the Awards ceremony at London’s spectacular Natural History Museum on 6 November.

The full list of categories is:

For more details and to download an entry form or to reserve your table go to

Related reading