HMRC unveils details of its latest tax treaties

Financial Secretary Jane Kennedy has released details of UK’s treaty
negotiating priorities for the year ending March 31, 2009, revealing
Revenue & Customs
(HMRC) plans to complete work on new double taxation
conventions (DTCs) with the Netherlands, Ethiopia, Libya and Thailand; and on
Tax Information Agreements with Brazil, Jersey, Guernsey, Isle of Man and the
British Virgin Islands.

Kennedy said HMRC also intended to progress negotiations with China, US,
Spain, Belgium, Luxembourg and Hungary and start negotiations with Australia,
Canada, Israel and Spain.

The DTC between the UK and Macedonia, signed on November 8, 2006, entered
into force on August 8. In the UK, the provisions of the convention took effect
on April 1 for corporation tax purposes, and on April 6 for income tax and
capital gains tax purposes, while in Macedonia, the provisions took effect from
January 1.

A protocol to the DTC between the UK and Switzerland signed on June 26 is not
yet in force but the new comprehensive DTC between the UK and France was signed
on June 19.

Further reading:

UK, France sign major double taxation convention

Related reading