Honours – McLintock knighted in New Year’s List

Alan McLintock, one of the founding partners of KPMG, was knighted in the New Year’s honours in recognition for his work on the Church of England central board of finance.

Chairman of the Woolwich Building Society from 1984 to 1995, McLintock was appointed finance board chairman by the Church in 1992 to find ways to improve its investment performance.

McLintock, who qualified as an accountant in 1957 and is a member of both the English and Scots ICAs, was the most prominent accountant to be recognised.

The list also included retired Financial Reporting Council secretary Sydney Treadgold and Frank Jenkins, until recently the Department of Trade and Industry’s observer to the Accounting Standards Board.

Treadgold became a CBE in recognition for his services to the FRC, which involved him at one time acting as secretary for the ASB and the Financial Reporting Review Panel as well as the FRC itself.

Current FRC secretary, Ann Wilks, said: ‘Sydney was the first secretary of the FRC and really helped to establish the council, which is a unique achievement.’

Other accountants to receive awards included Hyder group chief executive Graham Hawker, who became a CBE, and Convention of Scottish Local Authorities deputy chief executive Albert Tait, who was honoured with an OBE.

The English ICA contingent also included three OBEs: Nicholas Brighouse of Norwich for his work with the Mini-Olympics for the mentally handicapped; John Hailey, a board member of Humberside Training & Enterprise Council and John Shepherd of Torquay for service to people with disabilities.

Apart from Alan McLintock, the other Scottish CAs honoured were Highland Distilleries group chief executive Brian Ivory, who gained a CBE for his services to the arts and the whisky industry; and Robert Cowan of Edinburgh-based Whitelaw Wells for his work with the Harmeny Education Trust for children with educational and behavoural difficulties. John Stewart, the High Constable of Holyrood House in Edinburgh who became a Lieutenant of the Royal Victorian Order, is a Scots ICA member, as is British Council director of training and development Alen Webster, who became a companion of the Order of St Michael and St George. Margaret Lyle of Cheshire Homes in Swaziland got an MBE. Both ACCA and CIMA were not aware of any members who were honoured in the New Year’s list. PricewaterhouseCoopers had two overseas representatives in the list: Hong Kong-based Patrick Paul gained a CBE and James Galliano became and MBE for his service to the Gibraltar community.

Several representatives from Customs & Excise and the Inland Revenue were also honoured. They include south east England collector William Stuttle (CBE), fraud intelligence service business manager George Coulson (OBE), Revenue business manager Roger Cully (OBE) and Revenue officer Doreen Libby (MBE).

Related reading