Arthur Andersen-sponsored awards call for the best of female entrepreneurship to come forward

The firm, which sponsors the entrepreneurial category of the awards, has asked women to nominate themselves, or a colleague, as having made an outstanding contribution to the development of their organisation or industry.

Previous award winners include Sue Lyons, managing director of Rolls Royce Defence; Penelope Jane Sykes, founder of the Fund for Epilepsy; Deidre Nicholls, founder of Celtic Silks, and Ann Gloag, founder and group managing director of Stagecoach Holdings.

The awards will take place at Grosvenor House on 14 July. The nominations close on 6 April.

An Andersen’s spokeswoman said: ‘The people at the crux of keeping any successful organisation running, are not always the most visible. The European Women of Achievement Award, now in its 10th year, was created to give both inspiration to others and support to individuals who look beyond the boundaries, to achieve the most from their role in Europe.’

For information or a nomination pack, email

Related reading