Awards 2003: Hall of fame

Colin at the awardsClick on the picture to see our award winning cartoonist Higgins’ take on the 2003 awards

Champagne reception
Just a handful of the more than 850 guests enjoy the bubbly before the dinner

Under the stars
Guests under the lights in the champagne reception enjoy a drink

Jazz band
A 20-piece jazz brand provided the music as comedian Jack Dee presented the awards.

WymanFormer ICAEW president Peter Wyman
Among the distinguished guests was Peter Wyman, also a nominee for Personality of the Year.

FreshwaterJudges share a joke
Chris Dickson, executive counsel at the JDS, shares a lighter moment with Christine Freshwater, former managing partner of Chantrey Vellacott.

PaliosFootball matters
Accountancy Age editor Damian Wild (left) and Football Association chief executive Mark Palios (centre) listen as Dave Hartnett, Inland Revenue deputy chairman shares a joke.

Howard-flightFlighty issues
Tory MP Howard Flight (left) poses alongside Personality of the Year winner Marta Andreasen and her husband, Octavio Otano.

DamianOpening proceedings
Accountancy Age editor Damian Wild addressed guests reflecting on an interesting year for the profession.

AndreasenPersonality of the Year
Marta Andreasen was chosen as the Personality of the Year, by Accountancy Age readers, pictured here receiving her trophy from John Taylor, managing director of Cartesis UK.

BigfourBig Four and Employer of the Year
PwC’s Kieran Poynter collects an award from’s Robin Booth.

LargefirmLarge Firm of the Year
Grant Thornton’s Steve Edmonds collects the trophy from Solution 6 general manager Simon Crompton.

MediumfirmMedium Firm of the Year
Founding partner Philip Hedges of Wingrave Yeats celebrates the company’s victory with Solution 6 general manager Simon Crompton (left)

Small-businessSmall Business Software Package of the Year
David Keeling, MD of Simply Books congratulated by Softworld Accounting & Finance’s Mark Abay

Mid-rangeMid-range Software Package of the Year
Mark Abay presents the award to Simon Edwards and colleagues of Microsoft Business Solutions – Navision

TurnaroundTurnaround Team of the Year
Kelso Place Asset Management chief executive John Drinkwater (left) with Andrew Sawers, editor of Financial Director.

Finance-teamFinance Team of the Year
Philip Lloyd (right) receives his award from David Sattin of Marks Sattin Recruitment and Andrew Sawers.

AatAccounting Technician of the Year
Mike Sole of Kent-based Bachelor Coop receives his award from AAT president Jan Bell.

AccaACCA New Accountant of the Year
Damian Joseph of Smith and Williamson with ACCA executive director, technical, Roger Adams (left).

AccountantAccountant of the Year
Head of Zurich Professional Dave Coughlan presents Wilkins Kennedy’s Karen Ballantyne with her trophy.

SmallSmall Firm of the Year
Jagdish Patel and Murtaza Jessa receive the award on behalf of Trustient from Sage general manager Hazel Bell.

Finance-teamFinance Team of the Year
The FIT and GTF teams from the Royal Bank of Scotland, the joint winners, celebrate with Peter Wyman, representing Mango.

EnterpriseEnterprise Software Package of the Year
Computing‘s Mike Gubbins presents OpenAccounts Financials managing director David Cook with the award.

Business-annualBusiness Annual Report of the Year
checkSURE’s CEO Gary Ling (left) with Amanda Jones and the team from The British Land Company.

Public-annualPublic and Voluntary Annual Report of the Year
The UK’s Passport Service’s Joanna Morris and colleagues with checkSURE’s CEO Gary Ling (left).

Related reading