BDO and John Whiting scoop prizes at 2016 British Accountancy Awards

BDO and John Whiting were among the big winners at the 2016 British Accountancy Awards.

The glittering event, which had nearly 700 accountants in attendance at The Brewery last night, saw 25 awards handed out.

Global Firm of the Year was scooped by BDO, fending off the other five international outfits. A client satisfaction survey of the Financial Director audience was undertaken in the summer, with BDO ranking highest.

Former Office of Tax Simplification director and ex-PwC partner John Whiting was awarded the Outstanding Industry Contribution award. Awards hosts Accountancy Age described Whiting as “the undisputed king of tax punditry”.

“A fixture of the BBC’s Budget Day broadcasts for many years, his 25 years as a tax partner with PwC never stopped him from being a man of the people – someone who cut through the haze of technical obfuscation to bring clarity to the masses,” said Accountancy Age consulting editor Kevin Reed.

British Accountancy Awards – the story of the night

Independent Firm of the Year was awarded to Cumbria-based JF Hornby, which impressed the judges with its local and international view of client service.

A competitive lineup of practices for National Firm of the Year saw Menzies scoop the prize, while the most hotly-contested trophy – for Mid-Tier Firm – went this year to Jeffreys Henry.

‘Most Innovative Practice’ awards went to Deloitte; PKF Cooper Parry; and Farnell Clarke, with the latter named overall winner.

Farnell Clarke was a multiple award-winner on the evening; adding Independent Firm of the Year East, England to its tally.

A major survey of practices’ staff saw PKF-FPM named overall Best Employer. Organised by Best Companies Group, staff surveys were undertaken earlier in the year.

“The British Accountancy Awards go from strength to strength. We had several hundred entries to sift through, and the quality continues to improve,” Reed said. “Those shortlisted should be proud of their achievement, and the winners delighted.”

View all the winners here

Related reading